2013 Harvey Awards Winners

Saga Volume 1 (Image Comics)
Saga Volume 1 (Image Comics)

The 2013 Harvey Awards were handed out this past weekend at the Baltimore Comic Con. First up you can see the collected editions that are more closely related to this site. It’s no surprise to see Building Stories on this list, but Alien was one that I was not expecting. 

    • American edition of foreign material: Blacksad: A Silent Hell from Dark Horse
    • Best original graphic publication for Younger readers: Adventure Time from KaBoom
    • Special Awards for Excellence in Presentation: Building Stories by Chris Ware
    • Best Graphic album previously published: Alien: the Illustrated Story from Titan Books (accepted by Walter Simonson)
    • Best Domestic reprint project: David Mazzucchelli‘s Daredevil: Born Again Artists Edition, IDW
    • Best Graphic Album, Original: Richard Stark’s Parker: The Score by Darwyn Cooke from IDW

As you can see, Saga was the big winner at this year’s Harvey Awards. As of this post, the series stands at issue #13. You can get the first 12 issues over two trade paperbacks.

    • Best Single Issue or Story: Saga #1
    • New Series: Saga from Image
    • Best Continuing or Limited Series: Saga from Image Comics
    • Color: Fiona Staples for Saga
    • Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, Saga
    • Best Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga

And here are the rest of the Harvey Awards winners. Big props to friend of the CCL, Mike Norton!

    • Letterer: Todd Klein for Fables
    • Inker: Klaus Janson for Captain America
    • New Talent: Dennis Hopeless for Avengers Arena from Marvel
    • Best Cover Artist: David Aja, Hawkeye
    • Best Cartoonist: Jaime Hernandez for Love and Rockets: New Stories from Fantagraphics
    • Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents
    • Syndicated strip: Dick Tracy by Joe Staton, Mike Curtis, from Tribune Media Services
    • Online Comics Work: Battle Pug by Mike Norton
    • Special Award for Humor in Comics: Ryan North for Adventure Time from KaBoom
    • Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic presentation: Robot 6 blog by CBR
    • Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Sal Buscema
    • Dick Giordano Hero Initiative Humanitarian of the Year Award: Paul Levitz

One thought on “2013 Harvey Awards Winners”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>